Vanilla Bean Smoothie

I’ve never been one to really follow recipes. Especially for smoothies. But a lot of family and friends have been asking me to share my smoothie recipes with them. So, I decided to start trying to keep track of my staples and record them here for you.

But first, here’s a few tips for keeping smoothie-ready ingredients on hand.

1. I keep a large rubbermaid container in my freezer filled with baggies of frozen fruit and veggies

2. I always check the discount rack at grocery stores for rotting bananas and 50% off spinach. Bananas I slice and place in baggies. I empty a big container of spinach into a large ziplock bag, release the air and seal it to save space.

3. I prefer Almond Milk to regular milk, but skim, 1% or 2% milk would work just as well

4. I buy my protein powder from http://www.CanadianProtein.com (my preference is All Natural New Zealand)

Ok, and now for the recipe. This is one of my all-time favourites. I named it Vanilla Bean because of the strong flavour of vanilla that comes from the combination of the protein powder and the edamame beans. Beans? In a smoothie? I know, I get the same reaction all the time. I started adding them to my smoothies to increase my iron, but I’ve come to learn they can taste amazing as the feature ingredient in a recipe. Here it is!

Serves: 1          Prep Time: 5 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1-2 scoops of protein powder (optional)
  • 1/4 cup of frozen edamame beans (available in the organic freezer section of SuperStore)
  • 1 handful of frozen spinach (roughly 1/2 cup to 1 cup). If you don’t have spinach on hand, use 1/2 cup edamame beans
  • 1 tbsp of natural peanut butter
  • approximately half of a banana, sliced and frozen
  • 1 cup of almond milk (or milk of your choice)

Directions

Blend all ingredients in a blender or using an immersion blender. This recipe makes approximately 1.5 cups, which is one serving size for me. If I eat this around 7:30/8am for breakfast and I’m still feeling pretty full by lunch time. Hope you ENJOY!

Image

About Carol Marie

Student of Life. Elementary Teacher. Food lover. Avid Outdoors Woman. Proud Newfie. Animal Lover. Yogi. Musician. View all posts by Carol Marie

Leave a Reply

