Bakeapple Breakfast Parfait

I’ll never forget my first memory of the smell of bakeapples boiling on the stove as mom prepared them to make jam. The smell disgusted me so much I refused to be in the house whenever she would make a batch, let alone ever taste them. Years later, presented with a homemade cheesecake topped with the berries, I finally yielded and tried them. I cannot believe I deprived myself so long. By far my favourite preserved berry! And this morning I found a way to incorporate them into breakfast without toast!

photo

Serves: 2          Prep Time: 20 minutes          Ready In: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup bakeapple jam*

Directions:

  1. Bring water to a boil, add quinoa, reduce heat, cover and simmer for 10-15 minutes until liquid has been absorbed
  2. Place quinoa in fridge to cool, approximately 10 minutes (to cut down on prep time, cook quinoa and refrigerate overnight)
  3. Serve quinoa into two bowls, top each with 1/4 cup of greek yogurt and 2 tbsp of bakeapple jam

ENJOY!

*Recipe to follow

About Carol Marie

Student of Life. Elementary Teacher. Food lover. Avid Outdoors Woman. Proud Newfie. Animal Lover. Yogi. Musician. View all posts by Carol Marie

2 responses to “Bakeapple Breakfast Parfait

Leave a Reply

