Grilled Zucchini, Goat Cheese & Pesto Panini

The zucchinis are big & bountiful at the roadside farm stands and at the nearby farm. Having picked up a few, I searched a few of my favourite website for recipe inspiration. I’m not one to follow most recipes to the nine, but this one looked perfect to me so I gave it a go. And it certainly delivered! Homemade avocado & basil pesto, grilled zucchinis & tomatoes, and crumbled goat cheese. It’s worth the little extra effort to make this lunchtime sandwich!

photo

Check it out for yourself: “Grilled Zucchini, Goat Cheese & Pesto Panini”

A few local notes:

  • I picked up fresh baked Tomato Thyme Focaccia bread from the Rocket Bakery & Fresh Food
  • I used tomatoes and zucchini from L A Farms Market, Gambo
  • I used Garlic & Chive Goat Cheese from Hug Your Nanny, a cheese made in Nova Scotia and sold at Lester’s Farm Market
  • I opted to use an immersion blender to mix the pesto, and it worked great!
  • I don’t have a panini press (YET!) so I grilled my sandwich for 3-5 minutes per side in a cast iron fry pan

 

About Carol Marie

Student of Life. Elementary Teacher. Food lover. Avid Outdoors Woman. Proud Newfie. Animal Lover. Yogi. Musician. View all posts by Carol Marie

Leave a Reply

